Gidon Kremer


Driven by his strikingly uncompromising artistic philosophy, Gidon Kremer has established a worldwide reputation as one of his generation’s most original and compelling artists. His repertoire encompasses standard classical scores and music by leading twentieth and twenty-first century composers. He has championed the works of Russian and Eastern European composers and performed many important new compositions, several of which have been dedicated to him. His name is closely associated with such composers as Alfred Schnittke, Arvo Pärt, Giya Kancheli, Sofia Gubaidulina, Valentin Silvestrov, Luigi Nono, Edison Denisov, Aribert Reimann, Pēteris Vasks, John Adams, Victor Kissine, Michael Nyman, Philip Glass, Leonid Desyatnikov and Astor Piazzolla, whose works he performs in ways that respect tradition while being fully alive to their freshness and originality. It is fair to say that no other soloist of comparable international stature has done more to promote the cause of contemporary composers and new music for violin.

Gidon Kremer has recorded over 120 albums, many of which have received prestigious international awards in recognition of their exceptional interpretative insights. His long list of honours and awards include the Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis, the Bundesverdienstkreuz, Moscow’s Triumph Prize, the Unesco Prize and the Una Vita Nella Musica – Artur Rubinstein Prize. In 2016 Gidon Kremer has received a Praemium Imperiale prize that is widely considered to be the Nobel Prize of music. In 1997 Gidon Kremer founded the chamber orchestra Kremerata Baltica to foster outstanding young musicians from the Baltic States. The ensemble tours  extensively and has recorded almost 30 albums for the Nonesuch, Deutsche Grammophon, Burleske and ECM labels. “After Mozart” (Nonesuch, 2001) received an ECHO prize and a GRAMMY award in 2002, while their recent release on ECM of works by Mieczysław Weinberg was nominated for a GRAMMY in 2015.

Sat 11.5. 19:45
Großer Saal, Casals Forum
Chamber Music Connects the World - K1


Schiff, Kremer, Hoffman and 10 juniors


  • Gidon Kremer violin
  • Gary Hoffman cello
  • Sir András Schiff piano
  • Jason Moon violin
  • Chiara Sannicandro violin
  • Guido Sant’Anna violin
  • Eike Coetzee viola
  • Katie Liu viola
  • Laura Liu viola
  • Otoha Tabata viola
  • Bryan Cheng cello
  • Sebastian Fritsch cello
  • Julius Asal piano


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Piano quartet No. 1 in g minor KV 478

Guido Sant’Anna (violin)
Otoha Tabata (viola)
Sebastian Fritsch (cello)
Sir András Schiff (piano)

John Harbison (* 1938)
„November 19, 1828“ for string trio and piano

Gidon Kremer (violin)
Katie Liu (viola)
Bryan Cheng (cello)
Julius Asal (piano)


Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904)
String quintet No. 3 in E flat major op. 97

Chiara Sannicandro, Jason Moon (violin)
Laura Liu, Eike Coetzee (viola)
Gary Hoffman (cello)

Subject to change.

Sun 12.5. 19:45
Großer Saal, Casals Forum
Chamber Music Connects the World - K2


Kremer, Perényi and 24 juniors


  • Gidon Kremer violin
  • Miklós Perényi cello
  • Leonard Baumgartner violin
  • Sarah Jégou-Sageman violin
  • Yeyeong Jin violin
  • Seohyun Kim violin
  • Leanne McGowan violin
  • Jason Moon violin
  • Oliver Neubauer violin
  • Guido Sant’Anna violin
  • Michael Shaham violin
  • Marija Strapcāne violin
  • Eike Coetzee viola
  • Toby Cook viola
  • Edgar Francis viola
  • Laura Liu viola
  • Joseph Skerik viola
  • Otoha Tabata viola
  • Maxim Calver cello
  • Sebastian Fritsch cello
  • Chase Park cello
  • Macintyre Taback cello
  • Alexander Warenberg cello
  • Arne Zeller cello
  • Dominik Wagner double bass
  • Itai Navon piano


Anton Bruckner (1824–1896)
Intermezzo in d minor for string quintet WAB 113

Gidon Kremer, Seohyun Kim (violin)
Laura Liu, Joseph Skerik (viola)
Chase Park (cello)

Gustav Mahler (1860–1911)
Adagio from Symphony No. 10 (Arr. Stadlmayr for 16–21 string players)

Gidon Kremer, Leanne McGowan, Oliver Neubauer, Guido Sant’Anna, Sarah Jégou-Sageman, Yeyeong Jin, Marija Strapcāne, Jason Moon, Leonhard Baumgartner, Michael Shaham (violin)
Edgar Francis, Otoha Tabata, Joseph Skerik, Toby Cook, Eike Coetzee (viola)
Macintyre Taback, Sebastian Fritsch, Maxim Calver, Alexander Warenberg, Arne Zeller (cello)
Dominik Wagner, Iurii Gavryliuk (double bass)


Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
Piano quartet No. 1 in g minor op. 25

Leanne McGowan (violin)
Eike Coetzee (viola)
Miklós Perényi (cello)
Itai Navon (piano)

Subject to change.