Promotional prizes

Landgrave of Hesse Prize

The Landgrave of Hesse Prize is worth €5,000 and is awarded to an active participant at the end of the Cello Masterclasses & Concerts.

Michael Song and Carlos Vidal Ballester (2022)
Brannon Cho and Aleksey Shadrin (2020)

Elia Cohen-Weissert and Erica Piccotti (2018)
Jonathan Roozeman and Zlatomir Fung (2016)
Laura van der Heijden and Maciej Kułakowski (2014)
Matthew Allen and Andrei Ioniţă (2012)
Anastasia Kobekina (2010)
Ha Young Choi and Dai Miyata (2008)
Leonard Elschenbroich (2006)
Nicolas Altstaedt and Giorgi Kharadze (2004)
Thomas Carroll and Julian Steckel (2002)
Bong-Ihn Koh (2000)
Kee-Hyun Kim and Tatjana Vassilieva (1998)
Edvardas Armonas and Denis Krotov (1996)
Claudio Bohórquez and Oren Shevlin (1994)

Boris Pergamenschikow Scholarship

The Boris Pergamenschikow Scholarship, which is worth €400 a month, is awarded to a young cellist over a period of two years to fund expenses incurred in the furtherance of his or her cultural and intellectual development. The scholarship is awarded once every two years at the Cello Masterclasses & Concerts.

Philipp Schupelius (2022–2024)
Luca Giovannini (2021–2023)
Ivan Karizna (20182020)
Aleksey Shadrin (2016–2018)
Lizi Ramishvili (2014–2016)
Anastasia Kobekina (2012–2014)
István Várdai (2010–2012)
Gabriel Schwabe (2008–2010)
Julian Steckel (2006–2008)
Julian Arp (2004–2006)

Prince of Hesse Prize

The Prince of Hesse Prize is the counterpart to the Landgrave of Hesse Prize, which has been presented to a young cellist at the end of the Cello Masterclasses since 1994. It has been awarded since 2009 to a young violinist at the end of the Violin Masterclasses. The promotional prize, which is worth €5,000, is conferred on a young musician who has stood out during the masterclasses on account of his or her “special musical ability, special perceptive insight, talent and hard work and hence recognisably great artistic potential”.

Seohyun Kim und Sueye Park (2023, prize shared)
Geneva Lewis und Javier Comesa
ña (2021, prize shared))
Ririko Noborisaka and Yamen Saadi (2019, prize shared)
Dmytro Udovychenko and María Dueñas (2017, prize shared)
Shuichi Okada and Lara Boschkor (2015, prize shared)
Tanja Zhou and Joakim Røbergshagen (2013, prize shared)
Anna Lee and Benjamin Beilman (2011, prize shared)
Hyeyoon Park and Guro Kleven Hagen (2009, prize shared)

Manfred Grommek-Prize

The Jürgen Frei Music Foundation in Bad Soden awards this promotional prize worth €5,000 to one of the active participants in the Violin Masterclasses who is chosen by the teachers. The prize – named after Manfred Grommek, who lived in Bad Soden and died in 2007 – should preferably be conferred on “a young musician at the start of his or her musical career with recognisably great development potential”.

Julian Rhee and Joshua Brown (2023, prize shared)
Carla Marrero Martínez und Anna Agafia Egholm (2021,
prize shared)
Clara Shen and Gyurim Kwak (2019, prize shared)
Niek Baar and Tatjana Roos (2017, prize shared)
Mahiru Moriyama and Daniel Lozakovitj (2015, prize shared)
Ui Youn Hong and Alexi Kenney (2013, prize shared)
Ekatarina Frolova and Arata Yumi (2011, prize shared)

Manfred Grommek-Sonderpreise

Leonhard Baumgartner, Wassili Wohlgemuth, Georgii Moroz and Leonard Toschev
(2023, prize shared)

Ana Chumachenco Award

The first Kronberg Academy Festival in 2013 was the appropriate occasion to pay tribute to the great violinist Ana Chumachenco for her outstanding lifelong service as a teacher and purveyor of the highest musical values. It was the artist’s express wish that her award should benefit the next generation of musicians. Kronberg Academy thus established the Ana Chumachenco Award, which is worth €5,000 and is awarded at the Violin Masterclasses & Concerts. It is financed by Marianne and Dr. Klaus-Jürgen Kraatz.

Kaori Furusawa und Vassily Chmykov (2021, prize shared)
Mon-Fu Lee Hsu and Shihan Wang (2019, prize shared)
Lara Boschkor and Carla Inés Marrero Martínez (2017, prize shared)
Kaoru Oe (2015)

Frans Helmerson Award

The promotional prize in honour of the cellist and pedagogue Frans Helmerson is worth €5.000. It is awarded at the end of the Cello Masterclasses & Concerts to an active participant aged 27 and under. It has been awarded for the second time at the Cello Masterclasses & Concerts 2018. It is financed by Hanna Lange.

Luka Coetzee und Petar Pejčić (2022)

Birgitta Elisa Oftestad and Yuki Sayama (2018)
Min Ji Kim und Yoonsoo Yeo (2016)

Sponsorship awards supporting students of Kronberg Academy

Manfred Grommek Concert Prize

This sponsorship award, endowed with €2,500 by the Bad Sodener Musikstiftung Jürgen Frei (BSM), provides support to a student at Kronberg Academy. The prize is presented every two years at a Prize Winners’ Concert held by the music foundation, in which the recipient gives a solo performance. More information can be found at

Manfred Grommek Viola Scholarship

Bad Sodener Musikstiftung Jürgen Frei (BSM) also presents a scholarship worth €2,500 to a viola student at Kronberg Academy every year.

Altkönig-Stift Sponsorship Award

Kronberg’s Altkönig-Stift supports the students of Kronberg Academy by presenting one individual each year with a sponsorship award worth €3,000.