Georgy Kovalev / Photo: Alina Cürten

Georgy Kovalev

2013 – 2015 Kronberg Academy Master
studying with Nobuko Imai

2015 – 2016 Kronberg Academy Professional Studies
studying with Nobuko Imai


2012 Chamber Music Connects the World, Junior

2013 Kronberg Academy Festival, concert

2015 Kronberg Academy Festival, concert

2016 Classic for Kids

2017 Kronberg Academy Festival, concert

Georgy Kovalev


Russian-German violist Georgy Kovalev, born in 1990 in Tiflis (Georgia), is one of the leading violists of his generation. After finishing his studies with Yuri Bashmet and Matthias Buchholz, he studied with Nobuko Imai at the Kronberg Academy from 2013 to 2015.

Georgy Kovalev has performed with leading orchestras such as the Kremerata Baltica Chamber Orchestra, New Russia State Symphony Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Moscow Soloists Chamber Orchestra, New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra among others.

He is a prize winner and a finalist of international competitions such us Yuri Bashmet International Competition in Moscow, Tokyo International Viola Competition, Brahms International Competition. In 2011 he received the Neva Foundation Prize awarded by the Verbier Festival.

His chamber music partners included Gidon Kremer, Christian Tetzlaff, Steven Isserlis, Yuri Bashmet, Fazil Say, Frans Helmerson, Emanuel Ax, Jörg Widmann, Viviane Hagner, Claudio Bohorquez, Lawrence Lesser, at renowned international music festivals such as Schubertiade, Verbier Festival, Ravinia Festival, Heidelberger Frühling, Rheingau Festival, Kronberg Academy Festival.

Georgy Kovalev has performed at concert venues such as the Victoria Hall (Geneva), Theatre des Champs-Elysées (Paris), Cologne Philharmonic Hall, Kioi Hall (Tokyo), Prinz Regent Theater Hall (Munich), Gordon Bennett Hall (Chicago), Grand Hall of Moscow Conservatory.

His future engagements include solo recitals and concertos in USA, Germany, Ireland, Holland, France, Italy, Austria, and Greece.

Georgy plays a viola by Simon Bernand Fendt (London 1820) kindly loaned to him by the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben.

Biographies are based on the most recent information provided by the artists or their representatives. Last updated: November 2016