Eliot Quartet / Photo: Andreas Kessler

Eliot Quartett

Eliot Quartett


The Eliot Quartett was founded in 2015 in Frankfurt am Main and is among the most promising in the next generation of string quartets. Its members – Maryana Osipova, Alexander Sachs, Dmitry Hahalin and Michael Preuss – hail from Russia, Canada and Germany. The quartet began its chamber music training under Hubert Buchberger and Tim Vogler at the University of Music and Performing Arts, Frankfurt am Main, as well as with Günter Pichler at Madrid’s Reina Sofía School of Music. A close working relationship with Alfred Brendel and masterclasses with artists such as Valentin Erben, Oliver Wille and the Mandelring Quartet have also provided an important source of inspiration for the ensemble’s artistic work. Additionally, the four musicians all hold scholarships from Villa Musica Rheinland-Pfalz.

Alexander Sachs has been teaching violin at Kronberg Academy’s Emanuel Feuermann Conservatory since 2014.

The ensemble is named after the American poet T.S. Eliot, who himself was inspired by the string quartets of Ludwig van Beethoven. The Eliot Quartett has won prizes in many national and international competitions, and for example in 2018 was awarded second place in both the International Mozart Competition Salzburg and the Melbourne International Music Competition, as well as first prizes in the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb and the Karol Szymanowski International Music Competition. 2018 also saw the quartet make its debut at the opening gala of the Mozart Week Festival in Salzburg’s Mozarteum. Concert tours have taken the musicians to Italy, Spain, Belgium, Poland and England. During the 2019 season, the Eliot Quartett will be the first Quartet in Residence at the Holzhausenschlösschen in Frankfurt am Main.

Last updated: January 2019