KronbergBerlinNew YorkSeoul
Education
Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann



An international music competition is an opportunity, a platform and, most of all, a huge personal challenge which helps musicians to mature. The Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann in Berlin also establishes a living monument to one of the greatest cellists of the last century.


About the Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann
  • First held in 2002
  • Cycle: Every four years
  • Venue: Berlin
  • Patron: Daniel Barenboim

Sponsored by  DLF     

Every four years, in collaboration with the Berlin University of the Arts, Kronberg Academy stages the Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann in Berlin.
The aim of this international cello competition  is to help keep alive the memory of the great cellist Emanuel Feuermann, who taught at the Berlin University of the Arts for several years before emigrating in 1933. The Grand Prix was awarded for the first time on the occasion of his 100th birthday.

In response to an invitation by Kronberg Academy, Emanuel Feuermann's sister and piano accompanist, Sophie Feuermann, and his widow, Eva Feuermann-Lehnsen, travelled to Germany for the first time since their emigration to attend this event. The two ladies had given Kronberg Academy the exclusive right to use the name of Emanuel Feuermann for the competition.

The works selected for the competition programme bear a relation to the personality, life and work of the musician after whom the competition is named. Emanuel Feuermann represents a quite unique art of cello playing, discreet elegance and unparalleled virtuosity.

In addition to the 15,000 prize money, the Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann affords the winner promotional opportunities in a series of international concert performances and the recording of a CD.

Our Partner   



Related information
Retrospective

Contact Print

Projects

Friends of Kronberg Academy
American Friends of Kronberg Academy
Kronberg Academy Foundation
Rostropovich Cello Foundation     Yuri Bashmet Viola Foundation     Gidon Kremer Stiftung

KronbergBerlinNew YorkSeoul
Ausbildung/Studium
Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann



Ein internationaler Musikwettbewerb ist eine Chance, ein Podium und vor allem eine große persönliche Herausforderung, an der man wachsen kann. Der Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann in Berlin setzt darüber hinaus ein lebendiges Denkmal für einen der größten Cellisten des letzten Jahrhunderts.


Über den Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann:

Gefördert vom   DLF

Gemeinsam mit der Universität der Künste Berlin richtet die Kronberg Academy alle vier Jahre den Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann in der Bundeshauptstadt aus.

Der internationale Cello Wettbewerb soll dazu beitragen, die Erinnerung an den großen Cellisten Emanuel Feuermann wach zu halten, der bis zu seiner Emigration im Jahre 1933 mehrere Jahre Professor an der Hochschule für Musik in Berlin war. Sein 100. Geburtstag war Anlass, den Grand Prix erstmalig zu vergeben.

Bei diesem Ereignis anwesend und auf Einladung der Kronberg Academy zum ersten Mal seit ihrer Emigration wieder in Deutschland, waren Sophie Feuermann, Schwester und Klavierpartnerin Emanuel Feuermanns, sowie seine Witwe Eva Feuermann-Lehnsen. Beide hatten der Kronberg Academy das alleinige Recht zugesprochen, den Wettbewerb unter dem Namen Emanuel Feuermanns durchzuführen.

Die Werke des Wettbewerbsprogramms stellen einen Bezug zu Persönlichkeit, Leben und Schaffen des Namensgebers her: Emanuel Feuermann steht für eine ganz eigene Kultur des Cello-Spiels, für unaufdringliche Feinheit und einzigartige Virtuosität.

Über das Preisgeld hinaus wird der Gewinner des mit 15.000 Euro dotierten Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann durch die Vermittlung einer Reihe internationaler Konzertauftritte sowie durch eine CD-Produktion gefördert.

 Unser Partner         

 


Weitere Artikel in diesem Bereich:
Rückblick

Kontakt Druckansicht Weiterempfehlen

Projekte

Freunde und Förderer der Kronberg Academy e.V.
American Friends of Kronberg Academy
Kronberg Academy Stiftung
Rostropovich Cello Foundation     Yuri Bashmet Viola Foundation     Gidon Kremer Stiftung